Rochford Review Summary


By Laura Lodge
on 23 October, 2016

Share this post

A Summary of the Rochford Review Recommendations, October 2016

It has been almost a year since the interim Rochford Review was released. This summary of the final report of the Rochford Review of assessment for pupils working below the standard of national curriculum tests emphasises ten key recommendations highlighted below.

Within the appendices, the report also provides the recommended new extended assessment frameworks for children working below the national test standard.

Rochford Review – 10 key recommendations

  1. P scale assessment is no longer a statutory requirement.
  2. Interim pre-key stage standards are to be made permanent and extended with two additional strands (‘emerging’ and ‘entry’) to include assessment for children engaging in subject-specific learning.
  3. Schools should assess pupils’ development in all four areas of learning in the SEND Code of Practice, however the focus for statutory assessment for pupils with “severe or profound and multiple learning difficulties” who are not engaged in subject-specific learning should be limited to cognition and learning.
  4. Children who are not engaged in subject-specific learning should be assessed against seven strands of cognition and learning:
    • Responsiveness
    • curiosity
    • Discovery
    • Anticipation
    • Persistence
    • Initiation
  5. Schools can decide on their own approach to assessing cognition and learning.
  6. ITT and CPD must reflect the need to build staff skills and understanding about assessing the needs of children working below the standard of the national curriculum tests, particularly children with SEND who are not accessing subject-specific learning.
  7. Good practice in schools should be shared with others proactively. Schools who feel they need additional support should seek out good practice in other schools.
  8. Schools needs to work collaboratively to gain further understanding and quality-assure assessment judgements.
  9. There is no requirement for schools to submit data about the seven areas of cognition and learning. However evidence must be available for parents and carers, local authorities and others to ensure accountability.
  10. Additional work is needed to decide upon the best way to support schools to assess pupils with EAL.

The government has committed to consulting on the report’s recommendations in early 2017. Until final decisions are made on the recommendations, schools should continue to use the existing pre-key stage standards and P scales to assess any children working below the standard of the national curriculum tests.

For further updates, ensure that you are signed up to the One Education Weekly Newsletter and follow us on twitter. If you would like to discuss the potential impact of this report, contact Laura Lodge on 0844 967 1111.

Get in touch

Leave a Comment

* Indicates a required field